Leading the Business of Healthcare
RCM Advisor

Quarter 2 2023 - Volume 28, ISSUE 2

HBMA Awards!

Special HBMA 30th Anniversary Section

By RCM Advisor Editors

Every year, HBMA recognizes members for their contributions to the association. Members who demonstrate continuing dedication to the purposes and goals of the association are selected by the Awards Committee. The current president of HBMA appoints the Awards Committee at least ninety days before the presentation of the awards, which is held at the annual business meeting. The following key awards are given every year:

The President’s Award

When deemed appropriate by the president, this award is given to a non-board member who has:

  • Assisted the president above and beyond that which could be expected.
  • Unselfishly volunteered his or her time and efforts to the president, whether or not he or she has been asked.
  • Through dedication and deeds, enhanced the office of the president and HBMA as an association.

The J. Dennis Mock Award

J. Dennis Mock is one of the founders of HBMA and is referred to as “The Father of HBMA.” It is a special honor to be a recipient of this award. This award is given to an individual who has:

  • Shown continuing dedication to the purposes and goals of HBMA.
  • Consistently influenced HBMA with a definition of purpose.
  • Given beyond the scope of a volunteer for the continuation of HBMA.

The Thomas N. Hackett Memorial Award

Tom Hackett was a charter member of HBMA and on the Steering Committee of the Greater Northeast Chapter. He was instrumental in developing the chapter. Tom was an astute businessman, an active association member, and a gentleman. He passed away very suddenly and unexpectedly. This award honors Tom’s legacy. This award is given to an individual who has:

  • Taken on leadership responsibilities to promote the purposes of their committee.
  • Given beyond the scope of a volunteer to accomplish the goals of the committee.
  • Influenced the overall direction and quality of the billing industry through the work of the committee.

The Vendor Service Award

HBMA appreciates all the work and support of our vendors and recognizes a vendor member who has:

  • Contributed their time and resources to the ongoing development of HBMA.
  • Encouraged other vendors and members to participate in HBMA meetings and seminars.
  • Volunteered their time beyond expectations.

The Rookie of the Year Award

This award is given when deemed appropriate to an individual who:

  • Has engaged an HBMA responsibility for the first time in their membership.
  • Has demonstrated a strong commitment to the HBMA work activity.
  • Appears to have leadership potential for further HBMA responsibilities.